top of page

Portrait of Millie

I was asked to create this miniature pet portrait of spaniel Millie for a friend's nephew for Christmas 2019 and I thought you'd like to see the various stages of its creation.


First of all I did the initial drawing and laid down some light washes in watercolour (below):




Dog Portrait
Millie

I worked more on her fur and added a ball (below):



Watercolour dog portrait
Millie


I knew that the lady who commissioned the painting likes purple so I created a background based on those colours. I also used fineliner pens to pick out certain elements and give it a more illustrative style (below):


Watercolour pet portrait
Millie

Millie framed and ready to go to her new home:



Watercolour dog portrait in frame
Millie framed and ready to go!

Sometimes on a large painting you can sometimes become bored or frustrated, so I really enjoy doing these smaller paintings as they allow for (almost!) instant gratification.


Hope you like her.



Kelly x




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page