top of page

Oil Painting

I've always painted with watercolours and whenever I've dabbled in oils it's usually ended up in complete disaster. Let's face it, I probably didn't try very hard. But recently I've had more time on my hands, so I broke open a box of oil paints that my husband bought me a good few years ago and just gave it a go. And you know what? I think I've had a bit of an oil-painting epiphany! I'm all of a sudden like 'why did I find this so difficult before?' I had the same feeling when, as a teenager, I drew a human face for the first time that actually looked like a human. Not that I paint many people as a rule.


Anyway, I've added the resulting portrait of Oscar Fox, my parents' Maine coon as a kitten, below.



Oil painting of a Maine coon kitten
Oscar as a kitten, 20cmx20cm

I'm pretty chuffed with it. You can see in the bottom left that some of the board I painted it on has rippled where I perhaps didn't add enough primer. I didn't actually think the painting would come out so well so I was a little slapdash in the preparation. It's actually on an old piece of MDF of all things! But I'm going to keep it anyway, possibly in my shed to remind me of beginnings.


As a result of this I went onto Jackson's Art and ordered several boards and some different oil colours. I've also ordered one large board for a special painting I have in mind, so watch this space.


Until next time.




Kelly x



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page