top of page

Some pencils are more equal than others...

Updated: Oct 8, 2019

Recently I've been getting re-acquainted with coloured pencils, but I was finding the small pack I had inadequate and I also didn't like their 'feel' on the page. I decided to do some research and found out that the range I had (mentioning no names) had been discontinued, and one commentator said that drawing with them was apparently like scratching your fingernails down a blackboard!


And so I went on an internet trawl and found several I liked the sound of. In particular Prismacolor came up again and again. I also liked the sound of Faber-Castell Polychromos pencils, but I found a YouTube video comparison of the two types and the Prismacolors seemed easier to blend. If you fancy getting hold of a new set of pencils, please do your own research and find the pencil you like, because it really is a personal choice.



Christmas has come early


In my research I found several negative comments about the Prismacolor pencils: lead breakages being the most common. However, in the end I realised I was getting bogged down in the minutiae and decided to go ahead and get some. My husband has kindly bought me the 72 set for Christmas and I'm really looking forward to using them. I will let you know my thoughts on their performance in due course.





Individual pencils


Once you have a set you may find that you need to acquire more colours or replace certain colours you use a lot. In the UK individual pencils are available from the Coloured Pencil Shop, among others.




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page